Categories
Books

The Miseducation of Darkstar of Dorne in a Game of Thrones

An oldie but goodie. Maybe minus the goodie.

Categories
Comics

Matt Kindt’s VALIANT – Divinity Gauntlet & Roku Rises

Some thoughts on some of Matt Kindt’s work at VALIANT.

Categories
Comics Interviews

Midwinter in the House of Mystery with Lilah Sturges – Interview

Some really good stuff in this old chat I had with Sturges. For fans of Vertgio, DC comics, storytelling, and/or speculative fiction in general.

Categories
Binge

Binge The Lost Room on Amazon Prime

One of the most under seen tv shows for fans of speculative fiction is now available to stream.

Categories
Books

Missing on the 100 Must Read Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Debuts

Just a friendly addendum to a list of rookie speculative fiction novels worthy of merit. Some of these belong on best of all time lists period.

Categories
Books

The Wonders of Jonathan Carroll’s The Wooden Sea

Some guy named Neil Gaiman once said Jonathan Carroll was, “A cult waiting to happen”. That’s Frankly better than I can put it so don’t read the rest of my thoughts and just buy all Jonathan Carroll books.

Categories
Comics Interviews

Eric Shanower Talks To Me about Bronze Ages and Golden Bricks

I just introduced my goddaughter to an old favorite of mine Return to Oz which scared the shit out of me as a kid in a way none of the iconic horror films of the decade did. No better time to re-present a lengthy interview I conducted with cartoonist Eric Shanower who has Oz stripes.

Categories
Comics

The Pocket-sized No Gloss or Glitz Beginnings of Wizard Magazine

No chromium or holograms to be found. Not even a die-cut cover. Where are my non-sports cards? Argh!

Categories
Books Interviews

From Fantasy to Pulp Noir – Charlie Huston Interview

I love his Joe Pitt books and because I started a reread I’m re-presenting this interview I conducted with him.

Categories
Comics

House Of X in effect, y’all I say the House Of X is in effect.

It’s time to jump around again for an X-Men book. Xavier finally has a worthwhile dream.

Categories
Books

On Matthew Stover’s Blade of Tyshalle & Caine Black Knife

Matthew Stover’s Blade of Tyshalle is one of the best pieces of speculative fiction that can be found in a novel and perhaps the most underrated of all time.

Categories
Books

Ian Cameron Esslemont’s Night of Knives – A Convergence Among Old Guard Friends

Because friendship is magic.

Categories
Books

George R. R. Martin’s Fire & Blood Shows the Power of Stern Emails

I wish a letter was all it took to get me Winds of Winter already.

Categories
Books

China Miéville’s The Scar Leaves a Mark Cut by a Beautiful Imagination

For his second novel Mieville takes us to the high seas while dual-wielding horror and fantasy.

Categories
Comics

Posuka Demizu Dresses Illustration 2019

A favorite annual purchase of mine to keep up with what’s next in art.

Categories
Binge

It’s Zendaya’s World, We Merely Live in It, Tiger

And we are so lucky to be part of her sexy euphoria.

Categories
Binge

Binge – Reassessing NBC’s Post post-Apocalyptic ‘Revolution’

It’s lights out but is it lights out?

Categories
Binge Comics

Into the Spider-Verse is on Netflix and Why Not All Good Things End Forever

For all ages and (finally) for everyone again.

Categories
Books

The World and Word Before Thorn of Emberlain. Scott Lynch’s Lies, Red Skies, & Thieves

My take on the first 3 Gentleman Bastard books by Scott Lynch. Why isn’t this on FX or HBO right now?

Categories
Books

Poolside with a Big Book of Classic Fantasy

…because size matters. Especially by the pool.